Happy New Year from Fran

Hello delightful you,

This is a time for natural reflection as we look back on 2011 and look forward to 2012, I hope it has been a good year for you.

I don’t subscribe to the rather harsh and unforgiving New Year’s resolutions, which often lie deserted in a crumpled heap come mid February. I think a healthier and kinder practice is to  forgive yourself for any mistakes or wrong turnings you feel you might have made this year. Gently look for the learning there (and there is always learning!) dust yourself off as you would kindly to a toddler who took a stumble, and re-direct your course.

Take time to celebrate your achievements, they may be big obvious ones as recognised by the world, like finishing your degree or moving house, or they may be tiny unnoticed ones. These are almost more important, only you know how hard it was to start that sketchbook, approach that stranger or how you spent time getting to know your shadow self. Only you can applaud your courage, so please do so, acknowledgement is really important. When you are upholding things you do well you can continue to do them, instead of focusing on what you don’t want, look at what you do well and  extend your wonderfulness.

I wish you a wonderful New Year.

Small Stones

I have an exciting project I’m launching tomorrow to celebrate the new year with a happy new website. I’m participating in ‘Small Stones’ challenge. This means posting up a small piece of writing, a very immediate and personal piece which will tell you about me and my moments in a way you have never heard before! I have also decided to post up a photo or a art work each day, some from my day to day life as I travel in Mexico, some from my ever growing collection of images I’d like to share with you.

I’d be so delighted if you would join me there and please take the time to comment, it means so much.

You can find me here www.franriley.com

Also, have a look at some of my highlights in this Smile Box slideshow I put together.

Muchas Gracias Amigos

Leave a Reply

